Five cannabis retail licences awarded for Ontario East RegionPosted by On

The Alcohol and Gaming Corporation of Ontario (AGCO) chose 25 entrepreneurs on Friday to operate the first cannabis stores in Ontario.

Out of those 25, five will operate their stores in the east region (an area including Barrie, Peterborough, the City of Kawartha Lakes, Belleville,  Kingston and Ottawa).

For those who have a licence, the criteria is communities with a population of 50,000 or more that have opted-in to have cannabis stores.

READ MORE: Aurora Cannabis buying Whistler Medical Marijuana in deal worth up to $175M

Out of the six communities in the east region that qualify under this criteria, so far, only Ottawa, Kingston and Peterborough have opted-in.

The City of Kawartha Lakes will decide on Tuesday at its council meeting.

Lottery winners will have to…

Original Author Link click here to read complete story..



Leave a Reply